Skip to content

Whatever happened to the writers of tomorrow?

August 14, 2011

Architects??? I wouldn’t trust these guys to build a children’s play set let alone the “House of Ideas.” Marvel would carve out Stan Lee’s heart if it meant remaining number one until the end of days (or until print becomes obsolete).

All I have to say is, WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED TO THESE WRITERS !?!?!?!?!

Matt Fraction: You know what I fear? Matt Fraction’s mental health. He’s had to have some sort of breakdown at some point in his career. In less than three years he’s gone from the next big thing to being almost a carbon copy of Bendis. Which is not a compliment these days.

Brian Michael Bendis: He’s writing one of Marvel’s top-selling titles the Avengers, their flagship title, the franchise in which Marvel Studios is revolving their series of movies around. You’d think he would give a shit as to whether it’s good or not? But it’s not, and he doesn’t.  As long as it’s selling he/Marvel could give two shits what you, me, or the critics say. I can’t wait for the day he leaves the mainstream comic book industry for Hollywood to destroy that industry as well because he’s had his eye on that prize since day one.

Jason Aaron: Go fuck yourself. You should change your CBR column from Where The Hell Am I to Who The Hell Cares.

Ed Brubaker: I have to give it to him, titles like Sleeper, Criminal, and Incognito are solid crime/pulp/noir stories. Also, his Cap run in parts has been solid and consistent, but lately it’s been consistently boring.

Jonathan Hickman: See Matt Fraction and Ed Brubaker.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2011 8:34 pm

    You hit the nail on the head…If the comics sell when the writers are just hacking it out, what’s their incentive to do better? Mark Millar tho is the guy that disappoints me the most. I used to really like some of his stuff, but now it’s like he can’t be bothered to even pretend to care about trying to write a lousy 20 page comic. BMB, Fraction, etc might be on auto-pilot now, but at least their stuff comes out near when its supposed to. Millar makes you wait 6 months and gives up comic that reads like it took him 10 minutes to write. “I’m to lazy to come with an actual story so here’s some violence and cursing for you morons, however I’m not going to make a effort to make it seem entertaining or suspenseful so if fails as even cheap thrills. Have a nice, jerks. Where’s my check?”

    • August 21, 2011 11:36 pm

      Thanks Ed.

      It’s funny how Mark Millar makes his way into this post because when I posted this on Twitter one of my followers sent me a link about Millar’s down fall. The reason why I didn’t include him in this post is because A.) he’s not one of Marvel’s Architects and B.) I think I’ve spent/wasted like three posts about the decline of Millar’s writing ability. Millar aside, when it comes to these “Architects” for me it feels like they just took the money an ran, and said fuck the rest.

Leave a Reply

