Skip to content

Random comic book thought #22

April 21, 2011

Between tweeting and contributing to the Inveterate Media Junkies website I really haven’t gotten around to posting anything new here on the blog. Anyway, I thought I’d throw something together for the time being until I read some of the comics I intend to review.

Here’s what I want to happen in my life time: The entire run of Christopher Priest’s Black Panther collected in trade or hell I’ll take hardcovers it’s that damn good because I’m sick of running down all the individual issues. It’s a damn shame that the company that trades everything has only squeezed out two trades. That’s 12 issues of a 62 issue run, you can see why this is a bit upsetting especially given how great this run was. Classic runs at Marvel are few and far between, and Priest’s run on Black Panther is most definitely worthy of the title of being a classic run.

I think that’s all for now. Till next time.

M.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 11:17 am

    I agree. The only thing I could think of is maybe they don’t want it to interfere with the sales of the most recent stuff? I dunno…

  2. April 24, 2011 11:19 am

    I agree. The only thing I can think of is maybe they don’t want it to interfere with the sales of more recent BP stuff? I dunno…

  3. April 25, 2011 1:01 am

    Sorry, for some reason your comments were coming up as spam. That’s why they didn’t immediately show up. Getting back on topic, I can see your point they wouldn’t want those books to interfere with the current books. We’ll only see Priest’s run collected only if Black Panther gets his own movie because we all know Marvel is good for doing that every time a movie is in the works. With the general lack of interest in the character in the comic book world I don’t see that motivating Marvel into developing a movie franchise around BP anytime soon. So I wouldn’t get my hopes up. Although, Blade got three feature films, a short lived live-action TV series, and a upcoming anime series. I kind of see that as a happy accident for Marvel as opposed to good creative decision making. Also, since it was one of Joey Q’s early Marvel Knights books that were actually good when he was editor of that line I can’t see him not wanting to keep that around. Little known fact, Priest did not want to write a Panther book, he wanted to write Daredevil, he didn’t like Panther because of his lack of super powers and other reasons, but Joey Q and Jimmy Palmiotti insisted that he write the book. With that, the rest is history as they say.

    Yet again, sorry Ed, and thanks for sharing. Like I said in the post I’ve been neglecting my blog but I intend to change that by posting more.

    • April 26, 2011 7:20 am

      I actually remember reading about a proposed BP movie starring Wesley Snipes w/a script by David Goyer back in the day. Supposedly,Wes was eager to do it but it’s been stuck in development hell for almost 10 years.

Leave a Reply

