Skip to content

I’m serving notice!!!

February 9, 2011

In the closing parts of my last Inveterate Media Junkies column I pretty much called bullshit on Jason Aaron’s statements about why he will no longer buy anything written or created by Alan Moore. If you did not read Aaron’s column he basically felt personally offended by a comment made by a man (Alan Moore creator of Watchmen, living legend) who I feel has every right to say whatever he wants about the industry because he’s been screwed over by it so many times. Anyway, Moore said and I’m paraphrasing here that he didn’t feel like that there was top-flight talent or even second-flight talent in the comic industry today. Harsh words, the words that would offend anyone if they were directed at you or directed at you by someone who followed the current comic book industry. Of course, as I and others have pointed out Alan Moore probably has no clue who or what Jason Aaron is, and that Alan Moore has repeatedly said he does not follow the current comic book industry. So, like a normal person I took Moore’s comments with a grain of salt and moved on. But, there was another part of his comment that I found interesting that Aaron failed to address which was a simple question. Where is the next Watchmen?  Why are they making sequels to material that is over 20 years old? Sadly, Aaron did not produce one example of a comic book that he felt was on par or of equal caliber to Watchmen and as I mentioned above he didn’t even address this question with a definitive answer. Kind of a sad state of affairs when Aaron gets to run his mouth and no one calls him out on it, but Eric Powell calls out the industry for its lack of diversity and is vilified for it.

Which brings me to my next point. I’m serving notice! Aaron was the first, but he sure as shit won’t be the last! I’m sick of paying for over priced mediocrity, and I’m sick of every “event” promising to change everything while keeping everything the same!

I think Stone Cold said it best. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 8:01 pm

    I was in the audience at that PPV. It was an awesome night.

    Also, Powell > Aaron. The fanboys (and creators) reaction to what Powell had to say was fucking pathetic.

  2. February 12, 2011 11:35 am

    I thought it was interesting that all the industry insiders felt it necassary to comment on Powell. It’s like, “Thou shalt not criticize the status quo!”

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention I’m serving notice!!! « The M Spot Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

