Skip to content

A TV Spotlight- DVD’s

October 25, 2010

I wasn’t sure whether to put this under the Random thought or TV Spotlight category.

Anyway, with rental services like Netflix and direct downloads from the Internet to your computer or gaming system, certain questions arise, for me at least.

Do you still buy DVD’s?

I’ve been meaning to ask the CCW and IMJ nation this, how many DVD’s do you own? And out of those DVD’s how many are of TV shows? Of those TV shows, how many originally aired on network television for free?

This next question comes in light of Jeff Parker and Steve Lieber’s Underground  being made available free for download on the comics official website while also showing an increase in PayPal donations and trade paperback sales.

Would you have bought the DVD’s if you didn’t see the show for free before hand?   

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2010 1:21 pm

    I occasionally buy DVD’s, mostly used, and not as much as I used to, but that’s mostly cuz of budget reasons. The TV shows I have are some Ghost in Shell episodes. I just started buying Lian and thinking about some others shows. American shows I normally don’t think of buying simply cuz the re-runs air frequently.

    • October 31, 2010 12:50 am

      Thanks for sharing ed. Yeah, I really don’t have has big a DVD collection as I do comics or graphic novels, but I still buy them. The only DVD’s of a TV shows I have are the first two seasons of Always Sunny and a volume of Mystery Science Theather 3000. Also, I do intend on getting that Batman Beyond box set just to see if it holds up the 9 or 10 years later it’s been since the last episode aired. I haven’t bought DVD’s of TV shows that have appeared on free network television.

      • Deemar permalink
        November 4, 2010 7:11 pm

        Thats how my nephews are, they are used to downloading, essentially buying content that if their computer or cell goes on the fritz they have nothing accept what they backup

  2. Deemar permalink
    November 4, 2010 7:09 pm

    I still buy DvDs/Blu rays.

    I’m old school I like to be able too tangibly touch the things I work hard to own.

    I have a paranoia about this whole buying items you can’t possess physically on some level.

    • November 4, 2010 8:18 pm

      I agree with you on why I buy DVD’s, comics or graphic novels in general is because I want a tangible thing that I can hold and own. Also, yeah I wouldn’t souly rely on digital downloads just because if you loss that copy by any means and don’t have a back up or hard copy than it’s lost forever.

  3. November 4, 2010 8:22 pm

    I think the main point of this post was to ask would you pay to watch American network television after you’ve seen it for free.

    • Deemar permalink
      November 11, 2010 8:39 pm

      Sure so longs as I get the season DVD box set in the mail.

      Hell that should be a package deal, for buying any tv shows online, you pay for the new season and get the previous season via mail.

Leave a Reply

