Skip to content

Random comic book thought #20

October 10, 2010

I’ve said this before but I’m a bit of a sucker for the Golden Age, and two recognizable characters that came out of the Golden Age were Batman and Captain America. With recent success of Batman at the box office and Cap getting the movie treatment as well it was only a matter of time before the comic companies caught up (and try to cash in).

So, here is a run down of future titles by both companies and both characters:

DC/Batman:

Batman: Incorporated, from writer Grant Morrison and artist Yanick Paquette

Batman: The Dark Knight, from writer/artist David Finch

Batman Beyond, from writer Adam Beechen and artist Ryan Benjamin

Batman: Europa, from writer Brian Azzarello and various artists

8 Bruce Wayne: The Road Home one-shots, from various writers and artists

Batman: The Return #1, from Grant Morrison and David Finch

Batman: Orphans, from writer  Eddie Berganza and artist Carlo Barberi

Not to mention Batman, Detective Comics, Batman and Robin, Batman Confidential and the rest of the 8 or more Bat Family books.

Marvel/Captain America:

Astonishing Captain America, from writer Andy Diggle and artist Adi Granov

Ultimate Captain America, from writer Jason Aaron and artist Ron Garney

Captain America: Hail Hydra, from writer Jonathan Maberry and various artists

Captain America: The Fighting Avenger, from writer Brian Clevinger and the Japanese art duo Gurihiru

Not to mention the Captain America ongoing, and the various other titles that Steve Rogers and Bucky Barnes appear in.

It’s good seeing so many takes on the characters, but it’s bad having to pay for so many of them. I’m not saying I will be buying every one of these titles, but a few have peaked my interest. Kind of makes me wish that I was a Wonder Woman fan, only one book.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 8:01 pm

    I wasn’t aware of the Maberry and Aaron Cap titles. I’ll definitely at least flip thru them at the LCS. I’ll probably end up buying only one. Even though the companies are dropping prices there’s still a recession going on! (smiley face)

    I probably said this somewhere before, but I hope they don’t do something lame to get Steve back in the Cap suit ( we all know he will) like kill Bucky. Please don’t fall back on that cliche!

    • October 12, 2010 5:27 pm

      That would be lame. I hope that they will just do a role reversal, Bucky would handle the black-ops stuff while Steve would go back under the spotlight as Cap.

  2. philbyday permalink
    October 14, 2010 7:54 pm

    Well, since I’m done w/comics ’til nxt yr & even then, I’m going w/ mostly tpb’s, here’s how things sum up 4 me;

    Batman Inc. I’m gonna have 2 track down some of Yannick’s other work 2 b 4 sure. Last I remembered, I didn’t care 4 him much.

    The Dark Knight: I don’t care if D can’t write a lick, that’s a trade I’d get any day!!

    Beyond: I’m hot and cold w/ Benjamin. I’ve liked earlier Bat stuff by him, but his End League seemed a bit ‘off’ 2 me

    The Return: Finch! nuff said.

    Orphans: Art is 2 Rramos meets Campbell and not as good as either

    All other Bat books, depends.

    As 4 Cap;

    Astonishing: Has Marvel run outta adjectives? Pass

    Ult Cap: Not a Garney kinda guy. Pass

    Maberry’s Cap: He did wonders w/ T’challa, so I’ll give him the benifit of the doubt.

    The Fighting Avenger; Have 2 c preview.

    As 4 WW, its not 2 late

Leave a Reply

