Skip to content

Random comic book thought #19

September 8, 2010

This will be my 55th post and 35th random thought about the same damn thing, comic books. So, instead of bitching about a book or a creator I think I will change things up for the moment, and ask a few questions.

Do you think the comic book industry is as professional as TV and/or the movie industry?

Do you buy comics because they are collectible or because they are entertaining?

If prices go up past 5 dollars for individual issues across the board will you continue to buy individual issues?

Are trades and/or digital downloads the future of the comic book industry?

Sorry, trade waiters that you only get one question, but I would still like to hear what you have to say.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 6:41 pm

    I think the comic book industry and TV/Movie industry are equally professional. They both require a large group of very talented and commited people. As far as success goes, TV and Movie industry wins, no contest.

    I buy comics to escape from the real world. I have a lot to deal with in my daily life as I’m sure many of you guys do, so to momentarily escape from all that drama I read, mostly, comic books. I also like to relate to the characters as well. It’s nice to know I’m not the ONLY one with girl problems! 🙂 Also I hate when Marvel and DC argue about whose universe is “more realistic”. YOUR A F***ING COMIC COMPANY! NONE OF YOUR STORIES ARE GOING TO BE REALISTIC AT ALL! That’s not why people read comics, so they can be reminded of real life. Sorry I got a little of track there.

    As far as the future of prices are for comics, IDK. If they want to raise the prices they have to realize that they could potentially alienate newcomers to comics and/or stray away fans who’ve been buying comics for a while. I may just not buy new comics and wait for them to appear in bargain bins or at Half-Price Books if prices reach that point.

    I’m not a trade waiter or someone who buys digital comics, but it looks like more people are going that way to get their comics.

    • September 8, 2010 8:28 pm

      Thanks for sharing, and I couldn’t agree more. Especially, the part about Marvel and DC arguing over who’s universe is more realistic. That always bothered me as well.

  2. September 10, 2010 9:39 pm

    Considering from time 2 time there’s a lack of proffessionalism in those two mediums (so I’m told, I’ll say yes. BS doesn’t matter what it attaches itself 2.

    I’ve never bought a comic based on it’s collectability. Don’t believe me? U should see the 1/2 dozen Rulk comics I have. Of course ArtAdams and F. Cho’s art takes some of the sting away from Loebs’ attrocius writing.

    I’m already converting 2 trades

    Digi-comics r inevitable. Whether or not they’ll thrive is a dif story. Most mainstream comics r geared 4 the 30 and older crowd, whether or not digi goes the way of the youger generation…it would be nice, but I don’t c that happening. As 4 tpb’s, if the presumption is can they take the place of the individual comics…..well that’s kind of an oxy-moron, u would need the individual comics still 2 adapt into tpb’s The real question 2 me is real a grahic novel or a series of graphic novels be the future……..I still say if they’re not marketed to a youger audience, not very likely

    Very cool M-trospective questions, M
    btw I’ll post that tweake Cap sketch I did as soon as I get a scanner, until then I’ll put the web cam dilly-o on the fan art page on CCW’s site.

    knight0ut

    • September 10, 2010 10:13 pm

      Thanks for sharing, and I’ll be on the look out for that Cap sketch.

  3. Deemar permalink
    September 16, 2010 11:57 pm

    Ok..I figured it out!

    I shall post here from time to time bud. 🙂 don’t want Insideman cornering the CCW affliated blogs market.

    • September 17, 2010 12:03 am

      Great, well I do have to hand it to Insideman his posts are well thought out and have pictures. Where as mine are off the top of my head, and well random.

      • Deemar permalink
        September 17, 2010 12:14 am

        We gotta get you a gimmick!

        Something uniquely MSpot.

      • September 17, 2010 12:28 am

        Yeah, I’ve been thinking of doing comic book and movie spotlights.

        What do think of, A Movie Spotlight- Machete

  4. Deemar permalink
    September 19, 2010 9:23 pm

    I think it’s a good idea Spotty.

Leave a Reply

