Skip to content

Random comic book thought #18

August 27, 2010

I’ve never really considered myself to be a DC guy or a Marvel guy. As a kid it was more about Spider-Man and Batman than publisher loyalty, they had their own Saturday morning cartoons for crying out loud. Anyway, as I was growing up I started gaining an appreciation for the different eras in comics (the gold, silver, bronze, and modern ages) or the history, and then developing a taste for different writing and art styles. Now, I considered myself a seeker of good comic books kind of guy because nowadays writers, artists, and creators in general jump around to different publishers that there is a little more variety from the publishers.

Recently, there was a discussion on a CCW open thread about Neil Gaiman’s Sandman and for me I was never really interested in the book. I think the reason why books like The Dark Knight Returns, Watchmen, and Sandman are considered innovative was because they were something different from DC, but where The Dark Knight Returns and Watchmen differ from Sandman, in my opinion, is they had certain over tones, something to say, there was personality there where as Sandman was more of an expression of art though a modern reinvention of a golden age character, and for many people it was successful in that regard. For me the character looked a little to gothie, but to each his own I guess. The long and the short of it is that I still regard it as a classic it’s not for me to take that away from Gaiman, and like I said it’s still not my cup of tea. I mean, even though I enjoy The Dark Knight Returns it still has its flaws. Sandman was one of the few non-superhero books that out sold the superhero titles and continues to sell to this day. There are many creators in the industry today that wish they had half the success that Sandman had. Finally, at some point I’ll go back and read it again to hopefully gain a new an better prospective. So, until then I’ll just say goodbye till the next post that is.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 2:54 pm

    I haven’t read every issue Sandman but the ones I have read I mostly enjoyed. It being a little fey and goth was actually kinda a draw for me. I was burned out on the newer “death” “kill” guns n pouches guys when I discovered it and it was a nice change of pace for me. I can understand tho how it might not be everyone’s cup of tea.
    I think the over all theme or subtext Neil was trying to get at had to do with the power of myth and the power of stories.And that people need their dreams and myths to sustain them. I know…kinda pretenious, but at least it’s a different pretense from “realistic” or “gritty” superheroes. (DK and Watchmen are a couple of my favs, I’m not them just imitators of Image comics)

Leave a Reply

