Skip to content

Marvel mandates

August 20, 2010

1. Milk them for all their worth. $3.99 because everything must go.

2. Women, what are these women that you speak of? Female superheroes? Those are for girls. This is the He-Man Women Haters Club not DC.

3. Continuity, died in 1996 R.I.P.

4. Comics aren’t for kids anymore. Besides, they have video games and Internet. Why would they want to read comics?

5. Rape and misogyny makes bad guys look bad. How else are you supposed to show that a villain is evil?

6. Women don’t need their heads or need to be relevent.

7. All stories must take place in New York City. Man-Thing is from New York not the swamp, yet again this is not DC.

8. Ethnic characters scare white people. Use with extreme caution.

9. If you’re an up and coming indie writer prepare to have your unique voice white washed, turned into something more than generic and less than original. Hey, at least you’ll get a lot of (Disney) money for it because that is the Marvel way. 

10. Check your soul at the door because this isn’t art it’s just business.   

Ok, lets clear some things up. These are not my beliefs nor do I think these are what the people who work at Marvel believe (God I hope I’m right on that one), but after reading Marvel comics on a pretty regular basis especially in the last 10 years or so you start to think that these are acceptable practices. Anyway, I hate these trends that I feel are occurring way to often at Marvel, and I’m afraid that these practices will take over the rest of the industry. I’m sure people who read this will come away thinking that I’m a hater or I’m like one of those people who hate on Wal-Mart because their the largest, and/or number one, I’m not, and I’m not a shamed to say that I have shopped at Wal-Mart just like I still buy books from Marvel. Which leads me to another point which is, just because their number one doesn’t mean their good or the best, it just means that they know how to sell a lot of product. 

Anyway, I feel like I need to explain some of the remarks that I have listed, so here goes. 

#1: I don’t feel every book that Marvel produces needs to be $3.99. Look at S.H.I.E.L.D it is amazing and it is only $2.99.  

#2, 5, and 6: comicbookdude wrote a great post on his blog with examples of how women are treated in Marvel books that you should check out. Here’s the link: http://itsjustsomerandomgeek.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/pre-marital-sex-extreme-violence-and-over-misogyny-is-ok-but-smoking-is-bad/

#8: Like I have said in the comments section this one was more about the hate for DoomWar by critics and the lack of interest by readers in books like Agents of Atlas or NextWave than any miss step by Marvel.   

#9: Venting my anger over Bendis’ work on the Avengers, New Avengers, and just about all his work in the 616 universe. At least you get old Bendis back in Scarlet, the good Bendis, but one good book does not make up for years of shit or sub par. Or does it?

Anyway, I would like to think the rest were pretty self-explanatory, but if you want even more clarification there’s always the comments section where you can make a response like what phil did. Here’s that link:  http://pmktwelve.blogspot.com/2010/08/comics-hell-in-handbasket-or-my.html

I think this post hurt that dark void in the middle of my chest. Maybe the next post will be a little more up beat, but I doubt it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2010 7:56 am

    I think the problem with marvel and attracting new female readers is they’ve been selling “edgy” superheroes to boys for so long they’ve forgotten how to do anything else. Their attempts with “girl comics” etc have so bungling the female readers are just sticking w/X-Men or Stephen King or whatever they were already reading.

  2. August 22, 2010 5:41 pm

    Because of my freaking modem what I had posted on here was deleted. In efforts not to have that happen again I decided to post a blog response instead, I hope that’s cool

    http://pmktwelve.blogspot.com/2010/08/comics-hell-in-handbasket-or-my.html

    • August 22, 2010 7:57 pm

      That’s all right by me, sorry about your modem.
      After reading your blog response I will start off by saying thanks for taking the time to post it on your blog, and for the most part I agree. Also, I think I should clarify some of my statements. So, with #8 I think that was more about how frustrated I am about the DoomWar hate, and the general lack of interest that Agents of Atlas got than a miss step by Marvel. I should of started off with #1, but anyway, I think my main point there is I don’t get the reasoning behind a 3.99 6 issue mini that could of easily been told within the regular ongoing at 2.99. Or a 4.99 one-shot that really doesn’t have anything important to say about the title character.

      • August 23, 2010 7:39 pm

        AoA never grew on me, but I feel what you’re saying on DoomWar. That’s the best BP story I’v read since he premiered in JungleAction. It’s the best Dr. D story I’ve read since…..I can’t remember when, same for the X-men.

        That series should be nominated for an Eisner, if not flat out win!

    • August 22, 2010 8:19 pm

      Oh, and also I can’t say exactly when continuity died, but I used 1996 because that was when Onslaught and Heroes Reborn came out, and those were terrible. That was when continuity died for me and to a certain extent Marvel.

Leave a Reply

