Skip to content

Random comic book thought #17

August 8, 2010

I’d like to start off by thanking everyone who have commented on the last couple of posts and sharing your thoughts. Especially, in the last Random comic book thought where those that commented offered up their thoughts on what they considered to be classics or the best the medium could offer. Which brings me to the reason for this post. I didn’t actually list any of my picks.

So, here are mine:

For best OGN: I would have to go with Pride of Baghdad. In one of my earlier posts I explained why I like this book, but just know it’s a great read and not for the faint of heart.

For best indie graphic novel: This one is a toss-up  between Jimmy Corrigan, The Smartest Kid on Earth or Blankets. Because both are what I expect from an indie book in that they are stories that I can relate to on a human level, and are semi-biographical but both go about telling those stories in a different and unique way. After rereading both I would have to go with Blankets just because of how accessible it is to a larger audience.

For best limited series: I would have to go with Ronin. Now, I know I have been shitting on Frank Miller in recent memory, but the reason it made the list is because if there wasn’t a Ronin you probably wouldn’t have a Dark Knight Returns or to a certain extent Watchmen, and to me one of his best creator owned titles.

For best superhero story arc: I would go Spider-Man: Kraven’s Last Hunt only because Spider-Man has powers, but if we were talking costume crime-fighters I would go with Batman: Year One. Anyway, for super powered superheroes it’s Spider-Man: Kraven’s Last Hunt hands down.

For best comic book series: It’s Planetary, just because it is a series that pretty much does every thing you can do with in a comic book series, and does it in only 27 issues not including the 3 crossover one-shots, which are great, but also in those 27 issues you are not only taken on a journey about superheroes but on a journey about comic books themselves. Also, I think that is why Ellis is one of my favorite writers not only because of how prolific a writer he is, but because between this and NextWave he makes them more than just another cliché superhero team book, which if you knew me I’m not a big fan of, I don’t know I was never really drawn to them. Anyway, this was a great series with great writing, great art, and a series you should not miss out on.

And with that I think I will end this post there. Starting Monday I’m on vacation till next Monday. So, I will not be posting anything on the blog, but I’ll try to offer up some mini thoughts on my Twitter account which you can find the link to on the side bar. When I return I think my next post will be on some odds and ends books that I enjoyed, and you may as well. So, I’m off to my island get away to down as much rum as I possibly can in the next couple of days .

Oh, if you are a new comment and you don’t see your comment pop up right after you hit submit, it’s not that I don’t like what you have to say it is either I am on a white sandy beach or I am to shit-faced drunk that I am unable to operate a computer, take you pick. All new commenters will not be approved till August 16th at the latest.

If you’re a regular commenter and are wondering why I haven’t responded to you, see above statements.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 8, 2010 8:49 pm

    I’m gonna combine OGN and indie and say Bayou….
    a tough book to love but once some old sores are allowed to air out, it’s well worth it.

    Limited series… JLA v. Avengers not quite the epic I hoped for, but it was this grown up kids’ true dorkgasm

    Super hero story arc ..I guess I could go with what’s above, but I’ll go halfway there and say Avengers Disassembled.. of course that was when I respected Bendis

    Comicbook series … Miller’s run on Daredevil

Leave a Reply

