Skip to content

Random comic book thought #16

August 3, 2010

Since the last Random comic book thought I didn’t actually talk about comic books I felt I should make up for that with this post. In this random thought I”ll talk about what I look for when buying comic books and graphic novels. I find it funny or a shame that I have missed out on a lot more good books than I’ve read, but I’m trying to make up for that. In the beginning, when I got serious about reading comic books and graphic novels I started looking for books that I thought were classic examples of what could be done in the medium, you know your Watchmen your Dark Knight Returns, and so on. Anyway, like I said, I’m always on the look out for a classic story, but sometimes that is too much to ask for from the medium. So, I also enjoy reading books that interest me, from certain genres (crime, noir, pulp, superhero, action-adventure, and the all to rare fun book), by certain creators as long as it’s good I’ll read it, and I didn’t feel like I wasted my money. That’s the basics when I go about buying comics books and graphic novels, and when it comes down to it I think that is what a lot of people look for when they get into this medium. Finally, did you notice how I didn’t mention any books except Watchmen and Dark Knight Returns?  That’s because, I want to know what you think? What do you consider as a classic in the medium? What do you consider a good read from a certain genre or creator?  If you could, why?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Insideman permalink
    August 5, 2010 11:17 pm

    MSpot– if you haven’t read it, I strongly suggest a read of JMS and Gary Frank’s Midnight Nation Vol. 1 from Top Cow.

    It is perfect in that it DEFIES classification. It IS some of J. Michael Straczynski’s finest comic book work– before he ever got involved in all the Spider-man stuff, etc. The book is haunting– with recurrent themes that rival the best of ANY fiction. Frank’s artwork is perfect for the story. (Their early SUPREME POWER stuff is killer too.)

    If you want a more recent example, then Jeff Parker’s “Mysterius the Unfathomable” from Wildstorm is also an excellent book. Light where “Midnight Nation” is not– it also hits some of the same points of longing and fear… And stands as one of those books that you don’t want to end.

    • August 6, 2010 12:04 am

      I’ll definitely be checking out Midnight Nation (that is one of those books I’ve heard of, but didn’t read yet). I agree with you on Parker’s Mysterious the Unfathomable. I read that because of all the talk about him over at CCW that I had to check out his indie stuff like Underground and Mysterious the Unfathomable. Also, I agree with you on the Supreme Power.

  2. August 5, 2010 11:30 pm

    You might be hip to some of this stuff already but…

    Swamp Thing-Alan Moore
    Love and Rockets-Los Bros Hernandez
    100 Bullets- the early issues,the later conspiracy stuff loses me.
    Planetary-Warren Ellis
    I have a warm spot for Perez Avengers.The heroes return stuff w/Kurt is good,but also try the Serpent Crown Affair from the 70’s w/Steve Englehart.
    Fantastic Four by John Bryne
    Hate-Pete Bagge

    • August 6, 2010 12:11 am

      The first four and the last one are great picks. I’m not a big fan of the Avengers and Bendis isn’t helping me change my mind, but I’ll check them out.

  3. August 5, 2010 11:34 pm

    Gaiman’s Sandman. Bone is fun.

  4. August 6, 2010 12:20 am

    – Daredevil: Born Again by Frank Miller and David Mazzucchelli

    – Superman: Red Son by Mark Millar, Dave Johnson, and Kilian Plunkett

    – Ultimate Spider-Man, the early issues are fantastic

    – Blankets by Craig Thompson

    – Batgirl: Year One by Scott Beatty, Chuck Dixon, and Marcos Martin

    – AKA Goldfish by Brian Michael Bendis

    – First 50 issue of ASM

    That’s all I got of the top of my head.

    • August 6, 2010 12:51 am

      Great picks from off the top of your head. I think the only things I don’t have on that list is Daredevil: Born Again, Goldfish, and Batgirl: Year One. Did you ever read Daredevil: Man Without Fear,and if so how would you rank it against Born Again.

      • August 6, 2010 2:30 am

        I have read DD: Man Without Fear and enjoyed it. It was a solid story that’s worth reading.

        If I ranked Man Without Fear against Born Again, I would go with Born Again. No contest. Born Again is in my Top 5 favorite comic book stories of all time. I love that story so much. The art and story is top notch. I would recommend reading it in a heartbeat.

    • August 6, 2010 12:53 am

      and I don’t have the first 50 issues of ASM, but I did read the first 10 in a reprint.

  5. August 7, 2010 12:49 pm

    The American Way from Wildstorm
    A tpb set in the early 60’s about a super team that finds out something about one of its members….that changes everything. It’s the 6o’s and it’s set in the south, hmmm what could the secret be 🙂

    Bayou from Zuda, by John Ridley, G. Jeanty
    Basically its a fable… once again set in the south, this time in the 30″s

    Den from I believe the same folks that put out HeavyMetal, by Richard Corben
    Erotic fiction set within an at times brutal, at times tranquil landscape

    Peter David and Gary Frank’s run on the Hulk
    Banner’s brain, Hulk’s body. In my opinion the best he’s been done.

    Nexus from First and various, by Mike Baron
    In truth I never stuck with the series, but it was clearly one of the best written and best drawn series out there (props to Steve Rude for the art chores before he started paying homage to everyone

Leave a Reply

