Skip to content

Multiple random thoughts

June 19, 2010

I don’t think the number of an issue should dictate whether or not you buy the comic book. I’m looking at those who bought Batman #700.

I don’t like being asked what’s your favorite superhero, I’m sorry, I just can’t pick one right off the top of my head.

I don’t buy every single book related to any one of my favorite characters, I am a discriminate buyer, and I do look at who is writing and/or doing the art on a book before I buy it. Because, I don’t want to waste my money on a character written or drawn by someone  who’s work I really don’t care about.  

I guess that answers one question of do I follow the creator or the character. I enjoy curtain characters, I enjoy curtain creators, and if the two come together it can be aces or utter shit. Which brings me to another point in that I do not blindly follow creators. Because sometimes they do work I don’t care for, others don’t do work I feel is up to the level of a previous work, and other times they go in another direction that is completely terrible which causes me to lose interest in them. 

 There are curtain genres in comics and other media that I just don’t follow. For example, Westerns, I feel every story that can be told has been told , and told , and told. In curtain respects I do not care for Horror anymore, it’s more I can’t stand vampires, zombies, and werewolves being over used, and abused to the point that I won’t buy anything with them in it because they annoy me. I do enjoy reading American Vampire and I bought Pinocchio: Vampire Slayer. In regards to American Vampire, I can’t bring my self to paying $3.99 for another vampire book no matter how good it is, and especially if the book is going to lose its co-feature. I’m not a big fan of Stephen King, any one could have been writing that co-feature for all I care. I just appreciated the added NEW material for the increase in price.

I’m not a fan of team books like JLA, JSA, Teen Titans, The Avengers, The New Avengers, any X book, The Fantastic Four, but I do enjoy Atlas, and Secret Avengers

I don’t like reprinted material, if it doesn’t pertain to the story than I don’t want to pay extra for it, and I don’t want it in my comic, I’m looking at you Marvel.

I don’t like those that go see movies based on comic books or comic book characters out of some unnecessary need to go see these movies even though they mostly turn out shit because they support the comic book art form. I’m looking at you guy who said, they would go see Jonah Hex because they enjoy the comic book medium, apparently he hates his money.

Jonah Hex looks terrible, I have no desire to waste my money on it, and judging by the reviews it is a terrible movie going experience.

Oh, before I forget I do not like event comics, I don’t buy them, maybe I will pick up the first issue, but generally, if it is any good I’ll wait for the trade.  

Man, that was a power dump of comic book related thoughts that were swimming around in my head.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 8:03 am

    Funnily enough, it was team and team up books that kept me hooked on comics. As far as events go; on the surface the concept annoys the heck outta me, but some event always seems 2 suck me in.

    • June 26, 2010 1:23 am

      Yeah, I never really went for the team books, but like I said there are a couple that I actually like. As for team ups go, I enjoy JMS’s The Brave and The Bold. Also, in regards to event books, I agree with you on that.

  2. June 26, 2010 6:24 pm

    I grew up on team books.Avengers,X-men,Teen Titans.Morrison’s JLA helped me get back into comics,but I’m more likely to follow a creator these days than a character.To misquote the Who, “it’s the singer not the song.”

    • June 26, 2010 7:43 pm

      Agreed, in regards to creators these days, and that is a good quote.

Leave a Reply

