Skip to content

My adventures at Wizard World

June 12, 2010

So, I just got back from Wizard World Philadelphia. Apparently, this was the 10th year of Wizard throwing this comic con, and how they were able to keep it going this long is beyond me.

First, me and a friend make the trip to Philadelphia. My friend was driving which was fine by me because if you’ve ever driven in any American city you probably can understand what a nightmare it can be, and the reason why my friend agreed to go on this trip was so that they could meet up with a friend who was working at the con apparently they worked at Zenescope or something I really wasn’t interested. I was going to the con because I was looking for a comic that I couldn’t find at my LCS.

Then we get there, it’s 35 dollars at the door for the each of us, we got our wrist bands, and our little goodie bags. My friend and I go into the one hall where the con was being held an in like five minutes I find the comic I was looking for, and so mission accomplished. The rest of the time we spent wandering around taking in the sights and sounds. Trust me, there really wasn’t much to take in seeing as none of the major publisher’s were present. There was only two publisher’s there Zenescope and Avatar Press two companies who’s back catalogue is not that impressive to me unless you count the stuff that Warren Ellis did for Avatar Press which was pretty decent. Also, I didn’t meet any of the comic book creators because I didn’t have any of their works or their work didn’t really interest me. Continued, I didn’t meet any of the media guests because like I said, I was there in search of a comic book, not to pay for a picture with a Z-list celebrity.

Finally, if you want to waste 35 dollars in a hot, relatively small, and packed hall than a Wizard World Comic Con is right for you.  I would say the people watching was free, but as my friend pointed out to me when I purchased that comic I was looking for, for a dollar, it really cost me 36 dollars.

A lot of you that read this are probably going to come away thinking that this was my first con or that I hate cons. Well, it wasn’t, this isn’t even my first Wizard World, and I don’t hate cons. I just didn’t think the space they used was the best choice, from the previous year it seemed to have gotten smaller, and I don’t think I got the best experience for the money.

All in all a pretty lame experience, but at least I got my comic so it wasn’t a total loss. In the end, isn’t that what it’s usually supposed to be about. God damn it!?!

Everything that Jose and Elliott have to say about Wizard World I 100% agree with so check out their video on the subject:

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Stamps permalink
    June 12, 2010 7:27 pm

    sorry your trip sucked. Oh Wizard, how far they have fallen.

    • June 12, 2010 9:12 pm

      Yeah, I know, it seems like it got smaller than the previous year for some reason. Last year I went there was a couple of exhibits in a couple of different halls, but this time everything was in the one hall. I guess you can say it depended on the day or it was only the first day of three days, I don’t think two extra days would of made a difference for me, and I wasn’t going to fork out the kind of money they were asking for on a three day pass. But, the schedule for the day I went on was pretty lame. I’m not a big fan of Magic cards and I think everything on the schedule seemed Magic related for some reason. This is Wizard’s first con of the season, not only that it’s the 10th year for this con, you would think they would try to make it special in some way, NO. Oh well, I really do hope they improve the layout or something, anything to make it seem less crowded and not seem like I’m in a really clean warehouse.

  2. June 12, 2010 8:09 pm

    I’m curious. What was the comic?

    • June 12, 2010 9:13 pm

      Criminal: Bad Night, Four of Four.

      • June 12, 2010 9:51 pm

        Criminal!Yes! I haven’t got the relaunch yet,but I enjoy Coward and Lawless as well.

      • June 12, 2010 10:26 pm

        Yes, I got through the first three story arcs and the Sinners, but I couldn’t finish Bad Night because I didn’t have the last issue. Now that I have, I stand by my statement that this is proably one of the best crime/noir/pulp comic on the market today.

  3. June 27, 2010 10:34 pm

    my God, I don’t know if I’ll ever attend a convention again. I haven’t attended a Motor City con since it was last held in……well, the Motor City and that was easily over 20 years ago.

    4what its worth u at least are able 2 attend. Small consolation I guess, huh?

    • June 27, 2010 11:23 pm

      I don’t think you should never attend any convention, just not the Wizard World one. Like I said, if they used one of the larger halls, and improved the layout I would have less of a problem. Also, like I said in a previous comment it seemed like this years convention was smaller than last years for some reason.

Leave a Reply

