Skip to content

Random comic book thought #10

June 10, 2010

Batman #700, the concept sounded good, Batman through different time periods and of three different Batmen (Bruce Wayne, Dick Grayson, and Damian Wayne), something that Morrison has been playing around with since he started writing on the regular Batman series. I have to say it was pretty poorly executed for such a monumental issue, art wise that is, and the story was OK in my opinion. 31 pages of story for $4.99 when the regular cost for a 32 page Batman book is $2.99. This would not be a good starting point for new readers to jump on board, and more about Morrison continuing his multi-volume Batman epic which is something that I am not interested in as long as Tony Daniel is on art. His art is so jarring that it caused me to stop picking up Batman especially after Battle for the Cowl. I couldn’t stand his, what I equate to,  jump cuts in his story telling, always putting people in the shadows so he doesn’t have to draw them, and if I had to see one more bat flying around in the background or following Batman, we get it! Anyway, I stopped buying and to a certain extent reading Batman because of Tony Daniel, and as long as he was on the title I wasn’t going pick it up. So, if you’re a collector this will be a great get, but if you are a fan of the character and reader of good stories look else where. Sorry, I think Morrison had a good idea,  but the art didn’t do it for me which is a shame for such a big issue even if Quitely did the second story of the issue which he didn’t finish (another artist had to finish the last three page). Oh well, I guess I will have to wait a little while longer until Daniel is gone, and so I guess until that day comes I will have to settle for the other Bat books like Detective and Batman & Robin.

I guess the only good parts of this book were the one page alternate futures of Batman and the pin-ups.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mike F permalink
    June 12, 2010 6:56 pm

    Yeah I so agree man. Part of me liked it, but overall this was NOT $5. But for $3? Yeah, I’d be more happy with it…

Leave a Reply

