Skip to content

Random comic book thought #8

May 14, 2010

It seems more and more that the DC Universe is becoming the DC Universe according to Geoff Johns. I guess that comes with the title of Chief Creative Officer of DC Comics or whatever his new job title is over there. In regards to his writing of late, unless you’ve been following DCU continuity for the I’ll say the last 20 years your probably not going to understand why the changes he’s made to DCU continuity were signficant, some good like making the Green Lantern a likable character again, and some not so good like bring back Barry Allen (The Flash). Bringing back Barry wasn’t the worst idea with his return and along with Blackest Night was Johns way of dealing with death in superhero comics or at least in the DCU, but I don’t know how meaningful these changes will be until they pan out. I really haven’t read much of Johns work on Green Lantern, he’s just started the new Flash series so time will tell how that will work out, and I have not been crazy about the event comics that he’s done and I’m not looking forward to Brightest Day. So, I guess what I am looking forward to in regards to Geoff Johns is his original graphic novel Batman: Earth One I believe it’s called, and see what he can do when he doesn’t have to worry about regular continuity he just has to worry about starting from scratch with a character who’s origins have already been defined in Batman: Year One. So here’s to Geoff Johns not fucking up one of my favorite characters, because honestly I don’t care what he does with Green Lantern or Flash, and I really don’t care what he does with Aquaman, but he better not screw with Batman. Anyway, I think that is enough talk about Geoff Johns, and the only book that came out from the big two I liked this week was Birds of Prey #1 there was that at least.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 12:02 am

    Dude,it’s like other folks have said,Geoff is slowly become a more likable Bendis.But as along as the comics are selling,DC will let him do whatever he wants.As soon as Flash,GL or whatever drops below a certain point,the share holders will call him on the carpet! (is that the right way you use that phrase?)

    • May 15, 2010 12:45 am

      I like that, “a more likable Bendis” and yeah as long as he’s making money for DC, they (DC) could care less what he does creatively until he stops making money for them they will more than likely pull the rug out from under him and hand the key over to some other up and comer if that ever happens. I honestly don’t see that happening any time soon, because of Johns new job position at DC prevents him from not having a say in what he can and can not write for them. So, we’ll just have to see what works and what doesn’t.

  2. Mike F permalink
    June 14, 2010 8:01 pm

    I really didn’t like how he changed the Flash’s history… As a die hard Flash fan, it really bothered me.

Leave a Reply

