Skip to content

‘Kick-Ass’ (the movie) random thought

April 17, 2010

So, Friday I decided to see Kick-Ass (I felt compelled to do so. Why? I don’t know). I wish the movie came out before the comic book, because the story seemed to work so much better in movie form. It took some of the ideas that were presented in the comic and put its own twist on it to make a half way decent movie. ( I credit that to Matthew Vaughn and not Mark Millar) Definitely a movie that takes style over substance in its story telling.

What I liked about it: Nick Cage when in his Big Daddy costume seemed like he was doing a Adam West Batman and was kind of funny. The banter between Aaron Johnson and his friends was enjoyable (and not so douchie as it was in the comic) as well. I liked the batman/robin parody that is Big Daddy and Hit-Girl, also their origins and motivations were nicely done as well. It was some what stylistically appealing, but not really the most realistic superhero story. You know, style over substance as the old saying goes.

What I didn’t like about it: I think the one thing I didn’t like about this movie is I didn’t care about any of these characters, I think the only character that I had any real attachment to was Hit-Girl because she had the most tragedy throughout the film to warrant any interest on how the movie would end. Like the comic book I did not care for the title character or the unusual explanation of why Kick-Ass can take a beating. This movie takes its cues from a number of other movies and media related to superheros, nothing revolutionary to me. (no real original ideas in Hollywood anymore are there?) I felt like I was being beaten over the head with all the number of comic book references (guess I should enjoy it but it felt forced, liked the Scott Pilgrim reference though). Oh, and breaking that whole fourth wall thing at the end is getting old and really annoying.

This was a OK movie that was apparently based on the comic of the same name, but the comic should be avoided at all costs if you don’t want it to ruin your movie viewing experience. Damn, I wish the movie came out before the comic or the comic was not even made at all, but I can’t and won’t get into that.  Trust me this doesn’t mean I’ve changed my views on Millar he is still unoriginal and lacking in his comic book story telling. (Damn it, I said I wouldn’t get into this, but oh well)

Yeah, at least my face didn’t melt off after viewing so that was a plus.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 11:26 pm

    Man, I agree with you 100%. I saw this thing yesterday and it was almost unbearable. I liked the things that you liked but loathed everything else. I found it so completely boring and for an action flick I don’t think that is a good thing. What made it an OK movie for me was the last 30 minutes which were almost completely different from the comic.

    Cage was awesomely bad but that’s exactly what I want from Cage at this point. I will also admit to liking Hitgirl. Not a role model by any means but it’s good to see a female character like that on the screen though she was a bit absurd at times.

    The script differing form the comic only HELPED this movie…greatly. Seeing how the movie underperformed I hope this marks the end of Millar’s “movie career”.

    J.

    • April 20, 2010 12:02 am

      I can’t believe you caved and saw the movie. Yeah, I hope it brings an end to Millar’s movie career if he even had one to begin with.

      • April 20, 2010 1:36 pm

        “Cave in” is a good way to put it. I had a friend visiting from out of town for c2e2 and he wanted to go see so we got a small group together and went.

        J.

Leave a Reply

