Skip to content

Random comic book thought #3

April 14, 2010

I have been thinking of checking out Kick-Ass the movie only because it seems that the reviews out side and in the comic book community have been mostly positive, mostly (why, I don’t know). The director and cast do interest me though. I can’t believe that they picked up the rights for a movie before it was finished (the comic) and allowed it to breathe in the market, but with the almighty hype machine that is Mark Millar it did generate buzz do to having a movie attached to it and people bought the book and seemed to justify their purchase by saying it was good not great, not bad, just good (what ever that means).

In regards to the comic to me it felt unoriginal, gory for the sake of gory, did not seem based in reality as it was billed to be, and it felt like Millar is making fun of the books readers and the readers of comic books in general. It also seemed that Millar pitched the movie before he wrote the comic, and when they picked up the movie rights he realized OH SHIT I have to write a comic for this. Heres to hoping that the film is better than the book. Which means Millar will more than likely write a sequel that is even more over the top (I hope that doesn’t happen). What happen to Red Son-Mark Millar, because I don’t like this Wanted /Kick-Ass /Nemesis -Mark Millar. I don’t think Millar has the ability to write at a level that is higher than Kick-Ass case in point Nemesis, he use to but not anymore, not anymore. It just seems that he doesn’t have a passion to work in the industry or at least at Marvel, but this is a creator owned title and I can’t believe this is the best he could come up with. I just don’t get it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Edward2962 permalink
    April 16, 2010 8:38 pm

    Ha! I feel the same about Kick-Ass.The impression I’ve been getting is that the movie has more story and less gore than the comic.As far as Millar,I still think he’s got the ABILITY but he doesn’t have the DESIRE to do more ambitious work.Sure,Ultimates became the Animated Avengers film,but they took the political stuff out.Same w/Wanted.The satire was removed but bad taste stayed.So,Millar figured “I’ll cash in with violence and cursing” And the thing is HE HAS!

  2. April 17, 2010 12:56 am

    Could not agree more.

Leave a Reply

